Poem- Addiction


9/2011

I thought I could find it,

I really thought I could

Find what I was seeking

Though I knew I sought not where I should.

In the bottom of another bottle

I hoped for dreams to appear

For problems to melt away

For the dissipation of my fears.

Yet to start a drink anew brings

An old habit and a new friend

Starts the search again for

Happiness and a life on the mend.

I thought I could end it

I really thought I could

Despite my promises to stop

Despite knowing I never would

It’s a terrible thing

Addiction of all kinds

Yet whatever your vice

It holds on tight and binds-

Holds you down to today by

Not letting you hope for tomorrow

But every step in the right direction

Is one toward peace over sorrow.

Leave a Reply

